Browse Tag


EXO – ‘XOXO’ album review: Rare case of album tracks > lead single

To say K-pop fans have been anticipating EXO’s comeback would be an understatement. Heck, anticipating EXO’s official debut in 2012 was such a long, played out event that it’s now become accepted Exotics have to wait ages for SM’s new boyband to put out some new music.

Of course, we all got a tease back in February when a leaked version of “Wolf” appeared online. Most people hated the song, so did I. Well, “hate” is a strong word. I laughed actually. I assumed SM was just trolling.

Now, imagine my surprise when “Wolf” actually ended up being the lead single off EXO’s first full-length album!

EXO xoxo album cover
‘XOXO’ a.k.a ‘Kiss & Hug’

Like my last EXO review, I will only be reviewing the Korean version of the album. So let’s begin, shall we?

01. “Wolf”

There is a reason why this track caused a lot of ruckus among fans when it leaked. They weren’t angry because the song leaked, they were just perplexed as to why SM Entertainment would choose such a bad song for a much anticipated comeback. The leaked version was terrible; the official release though, is far more polished — but I still don’t consider it a good song.

The unconventional nature of the song shouldn’t shock anyone considering it’s coming from the same production team responsible for SNSD’s “I Got a Boy”. But unlike IGAB, I just didn’t find myself hitting replay after first listening to “Wolf”. I only forced myself to listen to it again and again purely for the sake of this review. Just to see if it would grow on me. But even after a few days, “Wolf” is still a lame song as far as I’m concerned. I’m all for artistes trying out new sounds and breaking new grounds musically, but “Wolf” just doesn’t sway me in any positive way. It’s like SM purposely decided to avoid doing a killer song that would sweep the awards on music shows, just so EXO won’t peak early in their career.

The only saving grace is the brilliant choreography and the polished look of the MV. That’s it. – 2/5

Exo 12 members Wolf screencap

02. “Baby Don’t Cry” – One of the songs first featured on EXO’s many pre-debut teasers last year. A great ballad and a start to what I knew was going to be an otherwise great album. – 4/5

03. “Black Pearl” – Another backing track used in one of the pre-debut teasers that eventually turned into a full-fledged song. When SM put out the album teaser with snippets of each song, this was the track that really stood out for me. I loved it then and love it even more now! A dark, brooding ballad that still mixes in some great vocals and dubstep beats (still doing that, huh SM?) with the end result being a ballad none too common in K-pop. -5/5

04. “나비소녀 (Don’t Go)” – Another mid-tempo ballad that sounds as good as the boys singing it. – 4/5

05. “Let Out The Beast” – After a sting of ballads, we are back in dance territory again. This track may not be worthy of a single release, but it’s still a better song than “Wolf”. – 3/5

06. “3.6.5” – It starts out like a One Direction track, and with its European songwriting credentials, it sure does sound like one. This was another track on the album teaser which stood out to me thanks to its catchy chorus. A fun, uptempo track. – 3.5/5

07. “Heart Attack” – Slowing things down again, you would expect album filler material as we near the end. But the quality doesn’t drop as low as one would expect. This is still a very listenable track. – 3/5

08. “피터팬 (Peter Pan)” – Definitely the highlight of the song is the chorus. This track would make for a great sing-along towards the end of a concert. – 3.5/5

09. “Baby” – Produced by SM’s in-house composer Kenzie (who also worked on “Wolf”), this sweet ballad is yet another top-notch album track with a memorable chorus. – 3/5

10. “My Lady” – The final track on the album is another song that was first featured on one of the pre-debut teasers. This smooth, blues-y jam will have you bobbing your head during the pre-chorus. A good finish to put this album to a rest. – 3/5

Exo all members logo
The 12 members that make up EXO

I can’t recall just how many K-pop reviews I have written about how, other than the lead single, the rest of the album is just filler material. But EXO’s ‘XOXO’ is a rare exception. Practically every song on this album is better than the lead single “Wolf”! And it’s not just me who feels that way. Go read the comments on any of the album tracks on YouTube and you have scores of listeners who feel song ‘x’ would have made for a better single than “Wolf”.

When I heard the album teaser, I knew I was going to like the album. The quality of the songs on the album is top-notch, just like EXO’s debut mini-album was. It’s too bad the same can’t be said about “Wolf”. After waiting for more than a year, it’s disappointing EXO’s comeback single is best forgotten (as far as I’m concerned). There is always hope for a re-package album in a few months time, because I don’t think SM wants to keep fans waiting another year for just one more MV featuring the boys.

My final rating for EXO’s ‘XOXO’ (Kiss & Hug): 4 out of 5 (Very Good)

EXO – ‘MAMA’ album review: SM Entertainment enters a new era

I should probably specify that I’m going to be reviewing the Korean versions of all the songs, thus EXO-K. But I’m still going to refer to the group collectively as EXO, and how  the significance of their debut opens a new chapter in SM Entertainment‘s history. More on that later.

I first wanted to write a review for EXO when they released their debut single “What Is Love” back in January. And so, I began working on an image:

Exo What is love MV screencap kpop boyband
I created this image on 30/01/2012... but didn't use it until now

I thought “Nah, I’ll just wait until they release their album”. Nearly three months(!) later, here I am, finally working on this review. SM has released more teasers for EXO in the last few months than the number of K-pop groups who have debuted since January. Which in K-pop these days implies a lot! The number of teaser videos were turning into a joke and I started to care less and less about EXO. But now, after the album finally released, all I can say is nobody – including me – can ignore EXO’s presence in K-pop! Continue reading “EXO – ‘MAMA’ album review: SM Entertainment enters a new era” »

Related Posts with Thumbnails